Streetcar Subcommittee

Working Group 

Official Site





Vehicles Page







APTA Streetcar Group sm.jpg (205074 bytes)

Participants in the APTA Streetcar Subcommittee meeting in Vancouver / Seattle / Portland, January 2010

Working Group

Stephen Bonina- Stadler USA

Tim Borchers- City Rail Solutions

Jacques Drouin- Bombardier

Tom Furmaniak- LTK

Jim Graebner- Lomorado Group

Paul Grether- SORTA

Tom Hickey- CH2M Hill

Carl Jackson- Seattle Streetcar

Russ Jackson- STV (ret.)

Rich Krisak- MARTA

Stephen Lam- TTC

Larry Lovejoy- PB

Jason Mumford- AECOM

Jim Schantz- Seashore Trolley Museum

John Swanson- PB

Eric Sitiko- Portland Streetcar


John Smatlak- Interfleet, Project Manager 


Subcommittee Officers

Jim Graebner- Chair

Tom Hickey- Vice-Chair

Tim Borchers- Secretary

Charles Joseph-APTA Program Officer

The APTA Streetcar Subcommittee of the Rail Transit Committee was formed in 2000 with a mission "to promote the development of streetcar lines (both heritage and modern) in urban centers and to foster information exchange among those planning or operating such lines, and to encourage reasonable technical and safety standards". The Subcommittee meets several times each year in conjunction with APTA conferences as well as independently for in-depth technical tours of cities operating or planning streetcar systems. 

The Subcommittee is comprised of industry professionals who are voluntarily collaborating to help develop guidelines and standards that will benefit the streetcar field.  The group's first work product was released in 2005 through the APTA Standards Development Program. The "Standard for Heritage Trolley Vehicle Equipment" is the industry standard for equipment and safety certification of heritage trolley vehicles, covering both 'restored original" and replica cars.

The Subcommittee actively seeks the participation of interested parties. Consult the Subcommittee's official website for more details about its activities.

Olympic Line 11 sm.JPG (127362 bytes)